Introduction to the Multiple Intelligences theory

The LifeSmart Curriculum at Tutor Time is inspired by the Multiple Intelligences theory of learning and education. The heart of this theory is the belief that children learn and understand in different ways. LifeSmart teachers value the variety of ways in which children learn and provide opportunities for children to develop their minds and abilities through different approaches, materials, and experiences.

Background on the Multiple Intelligences theory

Howard Gardner of Harvard University constructed the theory of Multiple Intelligences from researches on how people learn. He identified eight distinct intelligences. This research and the theory of Multiple Intelligences earned him a MacArthur Fellowship, one of the most prestigious awards in all of educations.

One of the great strengths of Gr. Gardner’s work is that he accurately pinpointed parts of the brain linked to each of the intelligences. It is now one of the most prominent theories explaining how children learn, as well as how to make education more effective. 

Tutor Time implements Learning Care System to provide children with thousands of activities that will be able to expose their 8 smarts, which are :

  • MeSmart
  • BodySmart
  • NatureSmart
  • MathSmart
  • PeopleSmart
  • DesignSmart
  • WordSmart
  • MusicSmart
Steps in using Learning Care System:
  1. Observe Children
  2. Enter Assessments
  3. Create Personalized Lesson Plans
  4. Implement Planned Activities

Learning Care System scales:

  • Approaches to Learning: Measures children’s ability to plan, set golas, and interact with others and with the environment.
  • Creative Arts Expression: Measures children’s ability to express ideas and feelings through music, movement, visual arts, and drama.
  • Early Math : Measures children’s ability to understand number, patterns, sorting and ordering, as well as the ability to use numbers to add, subtract, measure, and graph.
  • Language : Measures children’s expressive vocabulary and their ability to use conversation skills and vocabulary to communicate effectively.
  • Nature and Science : Measures children’s understanding of the natural and physical world, as well as their ability to observe, describe, predict, and gather data.
  • Physical Development and Health : Measures children’s fine and gross motor skills and their understanding of health and nutrition.
  • Social and Emotional Development : Measures children’s self-awareness and ability to show respect and empathy for others
  • Social Studies : Measures children’s understanding of themselves, their families, communities, and their world.
  • Within each Developmental Area, the milestones are presented in sequence – the order in which children typically learn these skills.