Learn from the Start is an educational program that addresses the developmental needs of infants, toddlers, and twos. Children learn skills and concepts in sequence at their own unique pace. This program lets you meet your children where they are along their developmental path. 

Assessment and Lesson Planning
Observe your children’s learning throughout the day as they:
  • Work with toys and classroom materials
  • Interact with one another, with you, and with other adults
  • Respond to the language you model and use
  • Engage in the experiences you plan
  • Eat, walk, run, play, climb, dump, pour, learn and enjoy just being a child


Your Learn from the Start educational program has 219 milestones to look for. These milestones are common behaviors and skills that infants, toddlers, and two-year-old children acquire as they grow and develop. These milestones are the basis of the curriculum and are what children are learning. You will look for these milestones throughout the day.

These milestones are separated into five Developmental Areas :

  1. Approaches to Learning
  2. Cognitive Development
  3. Language Development
  4. Physical Development/Health
  5. Social-Emotional Development

Within each Developmental Area, the milestones are presented in sequence – the order in which children typically learn these skills.


They are also separated by age range: milestones that infant to 12-month-old children typically learn to milestones that 12- to 36-month old children typically learn. That gives you a starting point depending upon the age of the children in your classroom. However, you may find that some of your children are ready to learn, for example, more advanced language skills but are still learning skills in the 8- to 12- month range in social-emotional development.

Because the assessment forms present the milestones in sequence from infancy through 36 months, it allows you to see and track children’s development holistically. It also allows you to plan and choose experiences connected to milestones that may not exactly fit the chronological age of the children in your class.

Learning Areas
There are 6 Learning Centers for Toddler:

  1. Movement Center
  2. Language Center
  3. Pretend Center
  4. Block and Manipulatives Center
  5. My Space
  6. Art and Sensory Center

There are 6 Learning Centers for Twos, Twaddler and Prepper :

  1. Movement and Music Center
  2. Language and Literacy Center
  3. Pretend Center
  4. Block and Math Center
  5. My Space
  6. Art and Sensory Center